STATUTE OF THE SAKHAROV PRIZE FOR FREEDOM OF THOUGHT

DECISION OF THE CONFERENCE OF PRESIDENTS

OF 15 MAY 2003¹

The Conference of Presidents,

- having regard to Parliament's resolution of 13 December 1985 instituting the Sakharov Prize for freedom of thought,
- having regard to the proposal from the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Human Rights, Common Security and Defence Policy,
- having regard to Rule 25(4) of the Rules of Procedure²,

HAS DECIDED

Article 1

Parliament shall annually award the Sakharov Prize for freedom of thought.

Article 2

The prize shall be awarded for a particular achievement in one of the following fields:

- defence of human rights and fundamental freedoms, particularly the right to free expression,
- safeguarding the rights of minorities,
- respect for international law,
- development of democracy and implementation of the rule of law.

'Achievement' shall mean any intellectual or artistic composition or active work in the above fields.

Article 3

The prize shall be 50 000 \in .

Parliament reserves the right to publish any work for which the prize is awarded.

Article 4

The prize may be awarded to natural persons or to associations or organisations, irrespective of whether they have legal personality.

¹ Modified by the Conference of Presidents on 14 June 2006.

² This reference to the Rules of Procedure is to the version in force during the seventh parliamentary term.

The nationality, place of residence or seat of the candidates shall be immaterial.

Article 5

If a written work is submitted in support of an application, it must be in one of the official languages of the European Union.

An achievement within the meaning of Article 2 must be substantiated and verifiable.

<u>Article 6</u>

Nominations must secure the support of at least 40³ Members, or a political group, of Parliament. Individual Members may support only one nominee. Each proposal must be signed and include supporting evidence.

<u>Article 7</u>

Nominations which meet the formal criteria set out above shall be assessed in a joint meeting of the Committee on Foreign Affairs and the Committee on Development. Following that assessment, the two committees shall proceed jointly to an indicative vote producing a list of three candidates, in alphabetical order, from which the Conference of Presidents shall select one winner.

Article 8

The President of Parliament shall present the prize at a ceremony during a plenary session of Parliament.

Article 9

The procedures for the award of the prize shall be governed by internal implementing provisions to be laid down by the Committee on Foreign Affairs. Those provisions shall be communicated to any candidate at his or her request.

Article 10

The decision on the prize-winner shall be final and may not be challenged in the courts.

- Annex 1: Indicative timetable for the award of the Sakharov Prize
- Annex 2: List of prize-winners

³ Figure adapted in the light of the accession of Bulgaria and Romania.

AWARD OF THE SAKHAROV PRIZE INDICATIVE TIMETABLE

June/July	A call for nominations is circulated to the Members of Parliament
September	Closing date for proposing nominees
September/October	The Committee on Foreign Affairs and the Committee on Development jointly:
	 assess the nominations take an indicative vote to establish a list of three names in alphabetical order, to be submitted to the Conference of Presidents
October/November	Decision by the Conference of Presidents on one winner
December	Official award ceremony at the plenary sitting (Strasbourg)

WINNERS OF THE SAKHAROV PRIZE

- 1988 Nelson MANDELA Anatoli MARCHENKO (posthumous award)
- 1989 Alexander DUBČEK
- 1990 Aung SAN SUU KYI
- 1991 Adem DEMAÇI
- 1992 LAS MADRES DE PLAZA DE MAYO
- 1993 OSLOBODJENJE
- 1994 Taslima NASREEN
- 1995 Leyla ZANA
- 1996 WEI JINGSHENG
- 1997 Salima GHEZALI
- 1998 Ibrahim RUGOVA
- 1999 Xanana GUSMÃO
- 2000 ¡BASTA YA!
- 2001 Izzat GHAZZAWI Nurit PELED-ELHANAN Dom Zacarias KAMWENHO
- 2002 Oswaldo José PAYÁ SARDIÑAS
- 2003 Kofi ANNAN (UN)
- 2004 Belarusian Association of Journalists
- 2005 Ladies in White Hauwa IBRAHIM Reporters Without Borders
- 2006 Alexander MILINKEVICH
- 2007 Salih Mahmoud OSMAN

2008 - Hu JIA

- 2009 Lyudmila ALEXEYEVA, Oleg ORLOV and Sergei KOVALEV, on behalf of MEMORIAL and all other human rights defenders in Russia
- 2010 Guillermo FARIÑAS
- 2011 Arab Spring: Asmaa Mahfouz (Egypt), Ahmed El-Senussi (Libya), Mohamed Bouazizi (Tunisia), Ali Ferzat and Razan Zaitouneh (Syria)
- 2012 Nasrin SOTOUDEH and Jafar PANAHI
- 2013 Malala YOUSAFZAI
- 2014 Denis MUKWEGE
- 2015 Raif BADAWI
- 2016 Nadia MURAD and Lamya HAJI BASHAR
- 2017 Democratic opposition in Venezuela
- 2018 Oleg SENTSOV
- 2019 Ilham TOHTI